An open letter to Jesse Pinkman (SPOILER ALERT!)

Dear Jesse,

How are you holding up, buddy?

These past few years have been pretty rough on you. I mean, you’re still so young yet you’ve experienced a lifetime worth of tragedy. I can’t even begin to comprehend the depths of your despair right now, how entirely hopeless you must feel.

And by the way, I was pulling for you when you tried to escape from the Nazi prison. Really pulling for you. Slick move asking Todd to leave the sheet off so you could see the stars. Sorry it didn’t work out. I still think that guy, unlike his uncle and his buddies, has some empathy left in his body. And doesn’t it seem like he’s totally crushing on Lydia?

Anyway, back to you. You must really have it out for Mr. White right now. I mean, wasn’t this string of tragic events set off when he became a part of your life? It’s not like you were doing great before he came along but it’s fair to say that things have quickly deteriorated since you two went into business together.  What would you do if a defenseless Mr. White was standing in front of you right now? Wait, don’t answer that question. I don’t even want to know.

I mean, the guy made you kill Gale Boetticher even though, deep down, you’re a decent person with a good heart who doesn’t want to hurt, let alone kill, anybody. He could have saved your ex-girlfriend Jane when she was choking on her own vomit but chose to simply walk away and let her die. And what a moment to tell you that little piece of news, right?! Talk about adding insult to injury. And please, don’t even get me started on him poisoning Brock.

And finally, even though it was the Nazis who shot Andrea, isn’t Walt indirectly responsible for that as well? I can still hear your screams, Jesse. Through that mouth gag they tied around you. Oh, those screams will be with me for a while.

And to top it all off, Mr. White was never that nice to you, was he? Treated you more like a punching bag than a partner, you know what I’m saying? In fact, there’s even a YouTube clip devoted to him yelling at you. Being called a junkie and an idiot over and over must not have helped things much. I guess given your current circumstances, you can’t really click on that link. Sorry about that. Consider it something to look forward to.

Yet despite all this, Mr. White still seems to be a hard man to pin down. On one hand, he’s completely evil but on the other, the motivation behind his actions could be considered honourable, right? You’ve heard him say it a million times. He’s doing all this for his family. I bet at one point you might have considered yourself part of his family. Guess not.

All that being said, he did save your life from those drug dealers. And he did bring you into a business that made you a millionaire, even though all that’s gone right now, last I checked. And I genuinely feel that part of him still thinks of you as a son-figure. I think that deep down, he cares about you, Jesse. What he does next will determine to what extent.

But there’s at least one person left in this world who you do still care about, Jesse. One person out there who still needs you. No, I’m not talking about Badger and Skinny Pete though they seem like pretty cool dudes.

I’m talking about Brock. Before Mr. White came in and complicated everything, you seemed to be at your happiest when you were with Andrea (R.I.P.) and Brock. Playing video games and what-not. That Fruit Loops-eating kid may be your last glimmer of hope in a world that must seem like a living hell to you right now. A world you might have even considered leaving.

So hold on to the idea of that kid while you’re trapped down there, buddy. Put him in your thoughts and your dreams. Have him be your inspiration to escape your current, dreadful situation. After all, he’s an orphan now. He’s going to need a father figure in his life. This wasn’t my idea but I think the best-case scenario right now for you is that, somehow, someway, you get to raise that kid. If I had things my way, this would be the ending I would wish for.

I want something good to happen to you, Jesse. Something to put a smile on your face and help you put this whole mess behind you. And here’s some free advice: If you do get out and you do get to raise this kid, stay away from the drugs. This means making them, taking them, or selling them. Put all of your energy into Brock’s future.

This is the ending I hope for you. I can’t wait to see what happens.

Yours sincerely,

Jamie

Leave a comment

Filed under Entertainment

Leave a Reply

